Skip to main content
This site and some of it's functionality will not work on Internet Explorer. Please use a more modern browser.

Transportation Corridor Agencies Select Board Leadership, Welcome Four New Board Members

Mission Viejo Mayor Trish Kelley will again lead SJHTCA; Yorba Linda Mayor Peggy Huang to helm F/ETCA.

IRVINE, Calif. - January 19, 2021

At its meeting on Thursday, the Transportation Corridor Agencies’ (TCA) two Boards of Directors selected Chairs and Vice Chairs to lead the Agencies in continuing the practice of strong fiscal management and pursuit of enhanced mobility in Orange County.

Mission Viejo Mayor Trish Kelley will again serve as Chair of the San Joaquin Hills Transportation Corridor Agency (SJHTCA), with Newport Beach Councilmember Will O’Neill retaining the role of Vice Chair. Both received unanimous support to serve an additional year in their leadership roles.

The Foothill/Eastern Transportation Corridor Agency (F/ETCA) also unanimously named Yorba Linda Mayor Peggy Huang as Chair for 2021. Dana Point Mayor Pro Tem Joe Muller was elected to take on the role of Vice Chair for the year.

Chair Huang joined the F/ETCA Board of Directors in 2017. She serves as TCA’s appointed representative to the Southern California Association of Governments (SCAG), where she has attained a strong leadership position due to her focus and depth around various quality-of-life policy matters, including transportation. SCAG is the largest Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) in the nation, encompassing six counties, 191 cities, six county transportation commissions, tribal governments and air quality control districts. Huang has served on the Yorba Linda City Council since 2014; she has been Mayor on one previous occasion.

“I’m honored to have been named Chair by a unanimous vote of my peers,” said Huang. “The successful virtual grand opening of the Oso Parkway Bridge earlier this week is a shining example of the mobility enhancements that the F/ETCA provides. I look forward to leading the Agency, along with Vice Chair Muller, as we look ahead to key projects including the 241/91 Express Connector. Other priorities include upholding our strong financial position, enhancing mobility and preserving our environmental commitment into perpetuity.”

Of her unanimous reappointment to the position of Chair of the SJHTCA, Chair Kelley said: “I’m so pleased to again be entrusted with the important role of leading the SJHTCA. The Agency will continue its focus of providing transportation solutions for our region, thereby enhancing quality of life for our residents. And, Peggy Huang is a perfect choice for our Agencies’ partnership to continue the regional focus, which is key to South Orange County’s continued success. Her experience on numerous boards and committees, including SCAG, serves the Agencies well.” Kelley also serves on the SCAG transportation committee and has more than 10 years of experience with the organization.

This is only the second time in TCA’s 35-year history that both Boards are helmed simultaneously by women, making Huang and Kelley the highest-ranking female elected officials in Orange County transportation.

Additionally, TCA’s two Boards of Directors boast 8 mayors and 5 mayors pro tem.

TCA’s Chairs and Vice Chairs serve one-year terms and are permitted to serve multiple terms if so elected by their peers. The vacancies in the F/ETCA leadership positions were created based on results of the November election.

During the meeting, both Chairs welcomed four new Board Members:

San Joaquin Hills Transportation Corridor Agency: Farrah Khan, Irvine Mayor (Khan also serves on the F/ETCA); and Aliso Viejo Councilman Richard Hurt.

Foothill/Eastern Transportation Corridor Agency: Austin Lumbard, Tustin Mayor Pro Tem; and Trevor O’Neil, Anaheim City Councilman.

For more information on TCA board members and priority projects, visit

The Transportation Corridor Agencies (TCA) are two joint powers authorities formed by the California Legislature in 1986 to plan, finance, construct and operate Orange County’s public toll road system comprised of the 73, 133, 241 and 261 Toll Roads.