Skip to main content
This site and some of it's functionality will not work on Internet Explorer. Please use a more modern browser.

Transportation Corridor Agencies Select Board Leadership for 2023, Welcome Five New Board Members

Newport Beach Mayor Pro Tem Will O’Neill re-appointed to lead SJHTCA; San Juan Capistrano Council Member John Taylor to lead F/ETCA.

Irvine, Calif. - January 26, 2023

At its meeting on January 12, the Transportation Corridor Agencies’ (TCA) two Boards of Directors selected Chairs and Vice Chairs to lead the Agencies in continuing the pursuit of enhanced mobility in Orange County and strong fiscal management.

Newport Beach Mayor Pro Tem Will O’Neill received unanimous re-appointment to serve as Chair of the San Joaquin Hills Transportation Corridor Agency (SJHTCA), with Laguna Hills Mayor Janine Heft retaining the role of Vice Chair. The SJHTCA is responsible for oversight of the 73 Toll Road.

The Foothill/Eastern Transportation Corridor Agency (F/ETCA) board elected San Juan Capistrano Council Member John Taylor as Chair and Mission Viejo Mayor Pro Tem Trish Kelley as Vice Chair for 2023. The F/ETCA is responsible for oversight of the 133, 241 and 261 Toll Roads.

All received unanimous support to serve in their respective leadership roles.

Chair O’Neill joined the SJHTCA Board of Directors in 2019 and was elected Chair in 2022. He was elected to the Newport Beach City Council in 2016 and re-elected in 2020, when he was chosen by his peers on the City Council to serve as Mayor of Newport Beach.

“I am honored to continue to serve as Chair and thank my fellow board members for their trust,” he said. “We had a productive 2022 and I look forward to continuing the work of managing the SJHTCA debt in a fiscally responsible manner, as well as continuing to provide transportation solutions for our region.”

Chair Taylor joined the F/ETCA Board of Directors in 2020. He was elected to the San Juan Capistrano City Council in 2018 and won another four-year term in 2022. His peers on the City Council chose Chair Taylor to serve as Mayor in 2021.

“I’m honored to have been named Chair by a unanimous vote of my peers,” Taylor said. “We have an incredible job ahead of us in the next year. I look forward to leading the Agency, along with Vice Chair Kelley, as we continue to uphold our strong financial position and enhance mobility.”

TCA’s Chairs and Vice Chairs serve a one-year term. The vacancies in the F/ETCA leadership positions were created based on results of the November election.

During the meeting, both Boards welcomed five new Members:

San Joaquin Hills Transportation Corridor Agency: Katrina Foley, Orange County Supervisor, 5th District (Foley also serves on the F/ETCA); and Stephanie Oddo, Laguna Niguel City Council Member.

Foothill/Eastern Transportation Corridor Agency: Ashleigh Aitken, Anaheim Mayor; Denis Bilodeau, Orange City Council Member; and Dr. Beth Haney, Yorba Linda City Council Member.

TCA’s two Boards of Directors boast six mayors and two mayors pro tem.

For more information on TCA Board Members and priority projects, visit

The Transportation Corridor Agencies (TCA) are two joint powers authorities formed by the California Legislature in 1986 to plan, finance, construct and operate Orange County’s public toll road system comprised of the 73, 133, 241 and 261 Toll Roads.