Skip to main content
This site and some of it's functionality will not work on Internet Explorer. Please use a more modern browser.

Transportation Corridor Agencies Select Board Leadership for 2022

Yorba Linda Council Member Peggy Huang will continue to lead F/ETCA; Newport Beach Council Member Will O’Neill to helm SJHTCA

IRVINE, Calif. - January 14, 2022

At its meeting on Thursday, the Transportation Corridor Agencies’ (TCA) two Boards of Directors selected Chairs and Vice Chairs to lead the Agencies in continuing the pursuit of enhanced mobility in Orange County and practice of strong fiscal management.

The Foothill/Eastern Transportation Corridor Agency (F/ETCA) unanimously elected Yorba Linda Council Member Peggy Huang to another term as Chair for 2022. Dana Point Mayor Joe Muller was also re-elected as Vice Chair.

The San Joaquin Hills Transportation Corridor Agency (SJHTCA) unanimously elected Newport Beach Council Member Will O’Neill to serve as Chair and Laguna Hills Council Member Janine Heft to serve as Vice Chair.

Chair O’Neill joined the SJHTCA Board of Directors in 2019. He was elected to the Newport Beach City Council in 2016 and re-elected in 2020, when he was chosen by his peers on the City Council to serve as Mayor of Newport Beach.

“I am grateful to my colleagues and honored to serve as Chair,” he said. “I look forward to working with our Boards to reduce the Agencies’ debt, serve our riders and continue to provide transportation solutions for our region.” 

In his remarks, Chair O’Neill also offered to visit the SJHTCA member cities to update each city council on the success the Board has made in managing the Agency’s debt.

Chair Huang joined the F/ETCA Board of Directors in 2017. She serves as TCA’s appointed representative to the Southern California Association of Governments (SCAG), where she has attained a strong leadership position due to her focus and depth around sound policies and legislation including various quality-of-life policy matters, such as transportation. SCAG is the largest Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) in the nation, encompassing six counties, 191 cities, six county transportation commissions, tribal governments and air quality control districts. Chair Huang has served on the Yorba Linda City Council since 2014, serving as Mayor twice. 

“I’m grateful for the opportunity to continue to lead the F/ETCA as its Chair,” she said. “I think we have accomplished quite a bit over the past year, particularly with developing our Strategic Plan. It is important for us to work in the best interest of the public to enhance mobility while overseeing the Agency’s efforts to reduce debt service and ensure the long-term financial health and wellbeing of the Agency.” 

TCA’s Chairs and Vice Chairs serve one-year terms and are permitted to serve multiple terms if elected by their peers.

“The continued strong leadership and policy oversight of the Agencies is critical to our future success,” said CEO Samuel Johnson. “Congratulations to the elected leadership for the clear recognition from their peers for their leadership qualities and commitment to moving TCA forward.”

For more information on TCA board members and priority projects, visit

The Transportation Corridor Agencies (TCA) are two joint powers authorities formed by the California Legislature in 1986 to plan, finance, construct and operate Orange County’s public toll road system comprised of the 73, 133, 241 and 261 Toll Roads.