The Transportation Corridor Agencies (TCA) have an agreement with the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive license plate information and authorize vehicle registration holds. TCA's authority stems from 1996 California state laws (the Streets and Highways Code and California Vehicle Code).
You can pay tolls via our online toll payment option within 5 days before or five days after driving The Toll Roads. It may be used as often as needed. You can also pay a toll using The Toll Roads app.
In addition, drivers can pay tolls with cash using PayNearMe. To do so, visit TheTollRoads.com, click “Pay Toll Now,” follow steps, select “cash” on payment screen, receive barcode, present barcode to store clerk.
You can dispute a violation by filling out the "Contest of Notice" portion of your "Notice of Toll Evasion." This notice is typically mailed to you within two weeks of driving The Toll Roads without paying. Please include a written explanation for contesting the violation. We will investigate the circumstances and provide the results by mail.
If you are not satisfied with the results of the initial investigation, you can request an administrative review within 60 days of the postmark date of the results of the initial investigation. If you are not satisfied with the results of the second review, you can file an appeal with the municipal court. The procedures for administrative review and appeal are set forth in California Vehicle Code, Section 40255 and 40256.
You most likely received a violation because your transponder failed to read and your license plate is not on file with the your tolling agency. To resolve the violation, you should:
If you have a FasTrak account and recieved a violation notice, please visit the Toll Violation section of our website , The Toll Roads app or call (949) 727-4800 to resolve your violation. Please know your violation and reference numbers, which are located in the first column of your Notice of Toll Evasion.
To prevent future violations, make sure your FasTrak account is up-to-date. Check to see if your method of replenishment has sufficient funds and make sure your transponder is properly mounted to your windshield for proper reading. Update your account online or call (949) 727-4800 with new payment information, add new vehicle license plates and more. For online account access, you will need your account number and password.
If you've recently purchased a car, make sure to add your new license plate number to your account. You will need your account number and password to access your account.
You can pay your violation on the Toll Violation page of our website, The Toll Roads app or tear off the bottom portion of the notice and send a check for the amount due to: The Toll Roads Violations Dept., PO Box 50190, Irvine, CA 92619-0190.
You can also pay your violation with cash at a participating 7-Eleven or CVS Pharmacy locations using PayNearMe. A convenience fee is added to each transaction at the time of payment. Visit PayNearMe.com for a list of participating retailers. Learn more about cash payment.
If a driver does not have an account and does not pay their toll(s) within five days before or after driving, a violation will be processed for each transaction. A violation penalty will be assessed in addition to the toll, consistent with our current policy for non-payment.
If a driver uses The Toll Roads and does not have a FasTrak® account or pay their toll(s) online, a violation will be processed for each transaction. A violation penalty will be assessed in addition to the toll, consistent with our current policy for non-payment.
To meet our obligation to collect tolls for every vehicle that uses The Toll Roads, a violation enforcement process is in place:
If you have questions, please call our Violations Department at (949) 727-4800.
Each violation is assessed a $57.50 penalty in addition to the toll amount due. For example, if you did not pay the required toll to pass through the 241 Toll Road's Windy Ridge Toll Point during the weekend, you would be required to pay $61.00 - a $57.50 penalty plus the $3.50 toll (weekend toll rate).
If you fail to respond to the first violation notice, a second violation notice will be mailed to you with an additional $42.50 penalty. Failure to respond to the second notice could result in a DMV-hold being put on the vehicle's registration.